You probably know that you shouldn’t drive while your blood alcohol concentration is at .08% or greater. You may not know, though, that having an extremely high BAC could result in aggravated penalties, as could several other factors.
Common factors in aggravated DUI cases in New Jersey include:
- Having a high BAC of .10 or greater
- Getting arrested for a DUI in a school zone
- Being a repeat offender
- Having a child in your vehicle at the time of the DUI arrest
- Getting arrested for a DUI after a crash
After a conviction that includes aggravating factors, individuals can expect to attend educational workshops and an “at-risk” screening. You will likely lose your license, and being unable to meet the requirements of the New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Program could mean an extension on the suspension period.
Those convicted of DUIs with a BAC of .10% or greater can also expect to pay fines of up to $500, $100 to the drunk driving fund, $1,000 annually for three years as a surcharge and other penalties. For those with a BAC of .15% or greater, the prison term is up to 30 days. An ignition interlock device may also be required.
If you face a DUI, don’t wait to protect your interests
It is important to defend yourself if you’re facing a DUI with aggravating factors. Our website has more information on what you can do to fight back and protect your rights after an arrest or when you’re in court. Your attorney will be there to help minimize the penalties and work toward an agreeable resolution to the case.