Naturally, receiving a jail sentence is one of the top concerns of most DWI defendants in New Jersey. Spending time in jail disrupts your entire way of life. You may lose your job, and your relationships will likely suffer as well if you must face jail time.
New Jersey authorities take a harsh approach to driving while under the influence of alcohol. Regarding whether a DWI conviction will result in jail, it depends on the details surrounding your circumstances. A criminal defense attorney experienced with DUI/DWI cases can help you determine the most probable outcome for your case. In the meantime, you can uncover your odds of incarceration by learning more about the state’s laws.
How courts handle DWI cases
First offense: It is up to the court whether to send a first-time offender to jail for a drunk driving charge. If a jail sentence occurs, the defendant will serve no more than 30 days.
Second offense: In most cases, the defendant must spend at least 48 hours in jail. However, sentences handed down by courts can be for up to 90 days.
Third and subsequent offenses: In cases of repeat DWI offenses, defendants must serve at least some time behind bars. The typical jail term for repeat offenses is at least 180 days. However, the jail term may decrease for those receiving inpatient treatment services approved by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
The information provided in this blog post does not address all the possible consequences associated with a DWI conviction. If you or a loved one is facing charges, an experienced attorney can work to present a defense strong enough to avoid the worst outcome for your situation.